Review: Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil deGrasse Tyson

Published by: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393609391
ISBN 13: 9780393609394
Published: May 2017
Pages: 144
Format reviewed: eVersion from NetGalley
Site: Author Site
Goodreads: Book Page
Stars: Five out of Five

This is everything it says on the tin. As a bit of background – I haven’t yet read any of Tyson’s other books. My science background is limited to high school science classes that weren’t even as advanced as physics/bio/chem, though we did have a few good sessions on forensics… I have a friend who is an astrophysicist and I read some science fiction books… and that’s it. So keeping all that in mind – I was able to not only understand this book, but enjoy it. Neil DeGrasse Tyson, from what we already know of his excellent shows and cameos on tv, has a way of spinning massive theories into something you can understand over a cup of tea and half your attention.

It is utterly amazing how the universe works – he explains something so utterly cosmic and then says ‘a trillionth of a second has passed since the beginning’, which is just mind blowing.

It’s a short book at 140 or so pages, and the chapters are short, which makes it a book you can pick up and put down when you have the mental space to breathe around it and absorb – for me, at least, with my previously mentioned lack of scientific background. Because it’s so short it’s a little hard to review – though that could also be because it’s hard to share the amazing things you learn in this book without basically copy-pasting entire sections.

I can say it’s fast-paced, well worded, easily accessible, and I highly recommend.