Review: Den of Wolves by Juliet Marillier

Den of Wolves US FinalSeries: Blackthorn and Grim #3
Published by: Pan Macmillan Australia
ISBN: 0451467035
ISBN 13: 9781925483802
Published: September 2016
Pages: 432
Format reviewed: eVersion from NetGalley
Site: Author Site
Goodreads: Book Page
Stars: Five out of Five
Lists: Favourites
Related Reviews: Tower of Thorns (Blackthorn and Grim #2)

‘Den of Wolves’ by Juliet Marillier is the third and epic conclusion in the Blackthorn & Grim series. The first and second books, Dreamer’s Pool and Tower of Thorns were easily my favourites in the years they came out, and this volume is no different – now that I’m finished I immediately want to go back to the start and read them all over again.

Our main characters, Blackthorn and Grim (hence the title of the series), are once again put to test in this novel, as the dire state we first meet them in during the first book finally come to a head. The evil Lord who had them in jail in vile conditions is now causing more and more trouble – now targeting those of a higher status than our simple Grim and healer Blackthorn, so it’s finally getting the attention of those who may be able to do something about it. At the same time, a young girl, Cara, is sent away from her home and all she has ever known to learn the ways of the court life, and grow up a bit, as up until now she’s acted younger than her age and seemed to be off with the faeries a bit.

Cara comes across Blackthorn and in her council is able to discover herself and that all she’s ever known as ‘right’ may not entirely be so. In one short book we get to see Cara’s change as she really comes into herself and, although it’s an overused term, blossom. Her story is probably my favourite of the lore that Marillier works into her stories (other than the swans from her Sevenwaters series), and I loved how we get to see it reflected in this novel.

The other characters in this series are varied and detailed to the extreme, even those we get to see so little of, for instance, like Fedach who we only get to see in two, maybe three scenes, and says only a few words and yet you get such a feel for what kind of person he is. Conmael as well is seen so little and yet contributes so much to the series in all three books.

Throughout, this is a book where you come to the final page, and marvel at how far our beloved characters have truly come – their journey is incredibly tough and trying, but you see how they’ve grown as characters completely and utterly from where they started out in the first book, which makes it an incredibly rewarding series to read. With the plot entwined with lore and a very structured way of magic, the fey folk and what is possible, you have a deep and dependable trilogy to lose yourself in.

I can’t recommend this series enough.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.