2016 – January

It’s a whole new year! 2016 came on so very quickly and so far I’ve spent a lot of it knitting as I almost relax with reading for Aurealis finally done and dusted in this month, hence, other novels I can talk about are very, very sparse. For the first week or two I continued from last year to read like crazy – and from there on I relaxed. Or at least I tried to remember how!

Onto the novels read in January!

This Is Where It Ends

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp was a bit interesting. It says everything on the back – that this is a school shooting, and it’s not a surprise who does it and what everyone’s connections are to him. I was expecting big things from this piece, but in the end it was kinda so-so? I feel so much more could have been done with basically everything – how the characters reacted, ‘why’ he ‘did it’, and so on. This one was a let down, which is a shame. If it wasn’t for the excellent Aurealis reading I was doing at the start of the year, this would have been a disappointing start to my 2016 reading.

Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale

Risuko by David Kudler was a lovely book to match the lovely cover – this book is an easy book for younger readers that introduces them to Japanese words in a very easy manner, and introduces them to a few elements of culture and history. I’m writing this up at the end of the month and I already want to read it again! It’s full of very decent action (which I usually skim over given have a chance), and all in all I can really recommend this book to all readers.

You can read my full review here.

Nightsiders (Twelve Planets book 1)

Nightsiders by Sue Isle is the first in the Twelve Planets series, all collections, all written by Australian female authors. This was read for the Journey Through Twelve Planets reading challenge which is hosted here, and you can read my review here. Short answer is it’s even more amazing than I remember from my first read – but go grab it now, it’s really quite excellent.

Archivist Wasp

Archivist Wasp by Nicole Kornher-Stace was a book I would have loved and become obsessed with if I read it at a different time. This is pretty great, but I just couldn’t get into it. It was captivating in parts and in others it was… well, it wasn’t a whole lot of telling exactly, but it was certainly a different tone to the general novels out there. This isn’t shy in doing things a bit differently and it certainly has a certain type of magic to it… in this case it was simply the wrong time for me. I’ll be pushing it on friends in hopes they love it so I can hear how amazing it is, and hopefully try it again sometime in a year or so.

Reflections (Indexing, #2)

Reflections (Indexing #2) by Seanan McGuire was amazing, even better than the first in this series. We find out so much more about our favourite characters and things get a whole lot more real for the poor dears. This is elegant yet bold writing at its best. Fairytale novels may be coming thick and fast at the moment but Seanan is one of the best (if you want another rec, try Kate Forsyth).

I absolutely adore Sloane. And Demi really comes out of her shell, which is great. And I just want to clap at all the little things Seanan does that are out of the ordinary because she damn well can. Love it! God I hope there’s going to be a third!

~

This year I reverted back from my previous goal of 150 books in a year, to what I thought was two books a week. But I was in such a rush I entered 102 novels by mistake, rather than 104. Eh. I’m going to take it easy on reading this year as it was becoming a chore, but knowing me I’ll hit 200 books instead or something.

Leave a Reply

