Reading Challenge: A Journey Through Twelve Planets

journey-through-the-twelve-planets

In 2011 Twelfth Planet Press began the publication of a series of single author collections featuring short stories and novellas from twelve of Australia’s most prominent female short fiction writers in the speculative and horror genres. The authors were instructed to write four stories of any genre, and each were allowed to take the stories and collection as a whole in whichever direction they desired.  In 2015, the Twelfth Planet was published.

Through Twitter, Ju from The Conversationalist and Steph from Forest of Books discovered that they both planned to read and review all of the Twelve Planets in 2016, and a challenge was born! If you want to join in, please click here.

~

What is the aim of A Journey Through the Twelve Planets?

The aim of this challenge is simple: to read all of the Twelve Planets during 2016, and post a review for one of the books at the end of each month. (Note that the Thirteenth Planet has also been announced; for the time being, this challenge will focus on the original twelve).

What will we be reading and in which order?

We will be reading the Twelve Planets in the order of publication below (links go to the book purchase pages at Twelfth Planet Press):

Nightsiders by Sue Isle – my review

Love and Romanpunk by Tansy Rayner Roberts – my review

Thief of Lives by Lucy Sussex – my review

Bad Power by Deborah Biancotti – my review

Showtime by Narrelle M Harris – my review

Through Splintered Walls by Kaaron Warren – my review

Cracklescape by Margo Lanagan – my review

Asymmetry by Thoraiya Dyer – my review

Caution: Contains Small Parts by Kirstyn McDermott – my review

Secret Lives by Rosaleen Love – my review

The Female Factory by Lisa L. Hannett and Angela Slatter – my review

Cherry Crow Children by Deborah Kalin – my review

The collections are also available through Smashwords and Amazon in ebook form.  Print versions of the collections are available, though several are sold out or close to being sold out at this time.

~

One a month sounds like a good plan – I hope I can keep up!

Leave a Reply

