2015 – November

November was all about a 2 week holiday in England. I went to Wales, saw the Matilda musical, went to the Harry Potter Studios tour twice, sat in on a recording of the QI (No Such Thing as a Fish) podcast, the science museum to see the Russian space program exhibit, and lots of shopping and general catching up with friends – it was excellent!

Which meant not much reading has happened, and the reading that has was mostly for Aurealis, which I don’t discuss here.

Onto the novels read in November!

Shadows of Self (Mistborn, #5)

Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson was excellent. Issues with the author aside, Wax and Wayne are amazing characters, and I loved seeing a lot more of Marasi and especially Steris who is easily my favourite character, just for her deadpan nature and off-balanced sense of humour and outlook on life – I adore her. Plot-wise I could take it or leave it, but the end result was quite a surprise and packed a decent punch… but really, I read this for the characters and banter.

Rolling in the Deep

Rolling in the Deep by Mira Grant was read for the Goodreads choice awards so I could make an informed decision for that category – and I’m so glad I read this one! Sufficiently creepy and well-written I could really go for more in this world. The characters were lovely and you didn’t want to leave them, even after only seeing them for such a short time.

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo was a re-read so I could finish this series, and start her new one. Just as good as I remember reading it initially, but it’s hard to remember any of the details once you put the book down, which is a bit of a pain.

Carry On

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell was a bit disappointing overall. I read it on holiday whilst in Watford itself – just like the setting of the book itself. I just couldn’t gel with the characters and the plot seemed a bit haphazard, and it just wasn’t enjoyable to read. My loss!

American on Purpose: The Improbable Adventures of an Unlikely Patriot

American on Purpose by Craig Ferguson was a re-read – when i first read it a few years ago I didn’t know much of Peter Capaldi, so when I watched them in an interview together I decided I had to re-read and see it all in a different light – instead of just reading the Capaldi bits though, I found myself just re-reading the whole thing again. It’s so brilliant!

Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined

Life and Dead by Stephenie Meyer was hilarious and otherwise greatly lacking.

Spring 2016 Penguin Teen Sampler

Spring 2016 Penguin Teen Sampler contained previews of THE DARK DAYS CLUB by Alison Goodman, SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys, REBEL OF THE SANDS by Alwyn Hamilton, WINK POPPY MIDNIGHT by April Genevieve Tucholke and THE PASSION OF DOLSSA by Julie Berry.

The one I’m most excited for was The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman – by FAR the most engaging and lovely to read.

A Gathering of Shadows - SAMPLE

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab was a sample of the first third of the book, and works awesomely well at making sure I have multiple copies preordered and even more desperate for the book than I was before.

My blog post on it can be found here.

Not My Father's Son: A Memoir

Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming was heart-breaking and endlessly fascinating. Suggested by friend Kat when I re-read Craig Ferguson’s bio, I devoured this in less than a day. Highly recommended.

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo was another re-read, though honestly I couldn’t remember barely any of it. Hopefully it sticks in my mind a little better this time.

Leave a Reply

