Review: The Sword & Sorcery Anthology edited by David G. Hartwell & Jacob Weisman

swordandsorceryPublished by: Tachyon Publications
ISBN: 1616960698
ISBN 13: 9781616960698
Published: June 2012
Pages: 480
Format reviewed: Paperback
Goodreads: Book Page
Stars: Four out of Five

‘The Sword & Sorcery Anthology’ is edited by David G. Hartwell and Jacob Weisman, and boasts 19 pieces from names such as George R. R. Martin and Gene Wolfe.

Within are mostly reprints with only two original stories – ‘Epistel from Lebanoi’ by Michael Shea and ‘The Year of the Three Monarchs’ by Michael Swanwick, but overall each piece is to the same high standard and promises to captivate, meaning it’s a hefty volume worth procuring even if you’ve read some of the other shorts elsewhere.

Most of these shorts are action packed as the title suggests – hard and fast-paced fantasy that’s strong from the first piece right through to the last.

Though the anthology doesn’t offer a paragraph from each author offering insight, and the introduction by David Drake being a little rambly and sadly pointless rather than informative, the book is presented very well and the layout and font very easy to read. Overall this anthology is aesthetically pleasing, starting with such a dramatic cover and continuing through the eye-catching titles.

This is surely a required anthology for any fantasy lover’s collection.

The full index:

“The Tower of the Elephant” by Robert E. Howard
“Black God’s Kiss” by C. L. Moore
“The Unholy Grail” by Fritz Leiber
“The Tale of Hauk” by Poul Anderson
“The Caravan of Forgotten Dreams” by Michael Moorcock
“The Adventuress” by Joanna Russ
“Gimmile’s Song” by Charles R. Saunders
“Undertow” by Karl Edward Wagner
“The Stages of the God” by Ramsey Campbell (writing as Montgomery Comfort)
“The Barrow Troll” by David Drake
“Soldier of an Empire Unacquainted with Defeat” by Glen Cook
“Epistle from Lebanoi” by Michael Shea
“Become a Warrior” by Jane Yolen
“The Red Guild” by Rachel Pollack
“Six from Atlantis” by Gene Wolfe
“The Sea Troll’s Daughter” by Caitlín R. Kiernan
“The Coral Heart” by Jeffrey Ford
“Path of the Dragon” by George R. R. Martin
“The Year of the Three Monarchs” by Michael Swanwick

This anthology is published by Tachyon Publications and can be bought at the following links:

–       Tachyon Publications

–       Book Depository

–       Amazon US

–       Amazon UK

This review was originally posted at SentientOnline on the 22nd July 2012.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.