Haul & News – 26 July 2014

HnN

I’ve decided that each weekend shall be the time I take to discuss books I’ve received to review and/or books I’ve bought the week before, and any news that particular caught my interest. (I may have fallen a bit off the whole ‘each weekend’ thing, but stick with me here…)

Books Received:

  • The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness (review) from Hachette
  • Broadchurch by Erin Kelly (review) from Hachette
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel (review) from HarperCollins on Edelweiss
  • Solaris Rising 3 anthology, edited by Ian Whates (review) from Rebellion on NetGalley
  • Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets anthology, edited by David Thomas Moore (review) from Rebellion on NetGalley
  • The Inside Man by Jeff Abbott (review) from Hachette
  • Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid (review) from Harlequin Teen Australia on NetGalley
  • The Map-Maker’s Daughter by Caroline Dunford (review) from Spark on NetGalley
  • Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett (review) from Penguin Australia on NetGalley

Yes, I’m terrible and have fallen very behind in posting about these, so here’s a summary post and I’ll get back into it properly soon. Currently recovering from surgery which works as an excuse for now, but not two weeks prior!

News:

fablecroft

As of the 15th July, I officially became Intern to FableCroft Publishing, and PA to owner and editor Tehani! So far I’m loving it, proofing work and sending out contracts. Tehani is excellent to work for, and I’m very glad for the chance to take some of the stress of her shoulders.

musketeer-space

Tansy Rayner Roberts is one of my favourite authors. I discovered her work through the attention her Creature Court series received, and was lucky enough to be so late to the party that the second book was already out. Since then I’ve read everything I could get my hands on and now, there’s this. A weekly web-serial that shall run for the next year and a half, called Musketeer Space. Which is going to be a gender-swapped retelling of The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas, set in space.

To find out more about this, please click here to see Tansy’s blog entry.

Though this project shall be available for free, there’s also the option to become a patreon for as little as $1 a month. To see more about supporting the project, please click here.

GSicon

For listeners of the podcast Galactic Suburbia, you can now patreon them per episode, and get a bunch of cool incentives along the way! Recently having hit 100 episodes and proud winners and nominees of multiple awards, they’re easily my favourite podcast.

Haven’t listened to the podcast yet? You can do so here, as well as in iTunes.

To see more information about becoming a patreon, please click here.

Leave a Reply

