‘H is for Hawk’ by Helen Macdonald Giveaway

My lovely friend H has a book coming out on the 31st July (UK and Commonwealth) from Jonathan Cape, a book loved by Mark Haddon (of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time fame), and currently getting amazing reviews from various places:

I shall be interviewing her sometime in the near future, so stay tuned to learn more about the author and this amazing book! If you’d like to know more sooner, the writeup on her agent’s site is excellent.

H IS FOR HAWK is the story of how a woman tamed and trained a wild hawk. The hawk was a goshawk, Britain’s wildest, most lethal bird of prey. The woman was me.

Five months before the hawk arrived my father had died, suddenly, unexpectedly, on a London street. My world blew away. I started dreaming of hawks: goshawks, the most bloodthirsty and highly-strung of British birds of prey. I’d trained hawks before, but never a goshawk. I’d never wanted to. I’d seen nothing of myself reflected in their solitudinous, murderous eyes. Not for me, I’d thought, many times. Nothing like me. But the world had changed, and so had I. The hawk was inevitable.

HisforHFullCover

I’ll be giving away the following:

  • One copy of the hardcover of ‘H is for Hawk’ by Helen Macdonald, to two winners.

The winners shall have to be willing to share a postal address with me (obviously) and the giveaway is open world-wide. Where possible, the prizes shall be sent directly using Book Depository – if they don’t ship to your location, then there shall be a delay as I first order them here, then send them out myself :)

As there are two prizes, there shall be two winners.

Please click below for the rafflecopter giveaway – unfortunately it doesn’t seem they can be embedded in wordpress sites:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Apologies if the giveaway goes a little shaky – this is my second time using rafflecopter so I hope it runs smoothly! If you have any issues using it, just let me know and we’ll figure out a manual way to include you.

Any questions, leave a comment below!

5 thoughts on “‘H is for Hawk’ by Helen Macdonald Giveaway

  1. The book sounds really good and it’s a genre I haven’t read before but interests me so thank you for the chance to win this :)

  2. I follow Helen on twitter, and I’m fascinated by her bird rearing. My own research fellowship has just ended, & I’m looking for inspiration & a little bit of good luck to come my way…

  3. From the excerpts I’ve read, the writing is refreshing and beautiful. I’d love to dive into this book and learn about something totally new to me! Plus, look at that stunning cover. Thank you for giving me the chance to win this! :)

  4. Okay my comment never made it to publication! Here is my repost :D I would love toread this book – it sounds wonderful and intriguing. I’ve been feeling a stronger connection to bird life lately and so I feel drawn to this book because of that too… Yay giveaways!

  5. Oooh. I hope you pick me. A friend of mine who has, over the years, pointed me in the direction of such beloved books as Autobiography of Red pointed me the direction of this book. I review frequently on Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

