Review: Parasite by Mira Grant

ParasiteSeries: (Parasitology #1)
Published by: Orbit
ISBN: 0316218952
ISBN 13: 9780316218955
Published: October 2013
Pages: 504
Format reviewed: eVersion from NetGalley
Site: Author Site
Goodreads: Book Page
Stars: Five out of Five

‘Parasite’ is the first in Mira Grant’s new series, ‘Parasitology’. It’s set ever so slightly in the future, where illness is now a thing of the past, thanks to living parasites most humans now host – though it isn’t mandatory – yet. However, having an all-illness cure isn’t as perfect or complete as one may hope – something Sally soon learns, along with her partner and family.

One of the most refreshing things about Mira Grant’s work is that while she may not be qualified, it’s clear she does a heck of a lot of research. Even if those who are qualified who read her books can pick out inconsistencies or things that aren’t utterly true, she still manages to sound completely and utterly plausible to the other non-qualified readers. As someone who’s experienced her fair share (and more) of medically-related things, she sounds more qualified than some of my doctors. I believe her, I believe the things in this novel are scientifically sound, and that certainly makes it all so much scarier.

While this book deals mostly with human rights, the good of the world, and the strengths and weaknesses of family, its direct focus is on identity. What makes us truly us? Is it our past, our family and friends, our memories and achievements? If some of those are taken away, is what is left enough, or do they count for nothing? This novel shows there’s no easy answer, but it is to the reader to decide whether everyone loses or otherwise.

I come to this already as a Mira Grant fan – I adored Newsflesh and tried to get anyone who I know who reads to pick it up immediately (and I still nag those who haven’t yet finished it!) and while I found this novel hard to put down, it sadly didn’t connect with me in a way that Newsflesh did. I have an interest in the future of medical science, but I think the characters let me down here. Reading other reviews from friends see they disagree, so this is completely a ‘me’ thing. The characters aren’t people I personally would be interested in. As this is the only negative comment I have for this book (and as stated, only reflects on myself rather than the novel), it is highly recommended to all.

This book is out in October, with the next ‘Symbiogenesis’ currently waiting a slanted date for publication. However, this is Mira Grant/Seanan McQuire. She writes and publishes faster than almost any author I follow.

This review was originally posted at SentientOnline on the 6th July 2013. 

Leave a Reply

