We’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award!

liebster

I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award by Sam and River! That is far too kind, you’re both lovely :) The Award is best used as an opportunity for smaller blogs to get some love and recognition.

Here are the rules:

  • List 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions asked by whoever nominated you.
  • Ask 11 new questions to your nominated bloggers with less than 200 followers. You cannot re-nominate the blog that nominated you.
  • Go to their blog and tell them that they have been nominated!

11 facts about me:

1. I was born deaf though it was just fluid in the ears, and that was fixed when I was a few years old – it just meant delayed learning for a bit, but my parents kept me up to speed fairly well. The problems have persisted though and most flights now I damage my ears which is quite painful, and results in hearing loss for about three weeks after. I used to have colds almost constantly for years, and would normally go through a box of tissues every few days. Literally. Not exaggerating. Finally a doctor has listened and has done scans/tests and shown that my nose is completely malformed inside (looks normal outside, thankfully!) and I’m having surgery later in the year to correct everything. Hopefully. What an ordeal!

2. Continuing in the illness topic, I had ross river a few years ago which is a debilitating disease which is similar to chronic fatigue syndrome, and results in symptoms such as high fever, pain in the joints, loss of appetite and weakness. I would be able to stay awake for about three or four hours at a time, then I’d be so exhausted I could hardly keep my eyes open. I couldn’t hold a book of more than 200 pages for any length of time, and the action you hold a book open in was very uncomfortable. This brought on my almost complete transition to eReaders – something I never thought would happen.

3. Time for a few short ones! I have a partner, we’re in a long distance relationship, and have been since the end of 2010. He’s in England, I’m in Australia. We see each other about twice a year.

4. From about 1999 I used to write a lot, thousands of words a day, every day. In the last few years I’ve slacked off and given up. From 2004 until about 2012 I did every NaNo and Script Frenzy with gusto, and now it’s all such a struggle. One day I was sure I was going to be an author. I still miss my main novel series idea, my sky pirates.

5. I love to cook. I’m currently on a diet to lose about 8kgs and it’s probably what I miss the most. Eating whatever I want as well, sure – all the noodles and dumplings! But mostly I miss cooking, and I’m sick of reheating my prepackaged diet food.

6. I used to be a children’s entertainer – face painting, juggling, unicycling and general circus skills to either entertain kids or run an interactive workshop with them passing those skills on. It started in primary school when I attended an after-school class, and progressed onward as the teacher trained my friend and I to be her assistants. It was fantastic money but the parents were a nightmare to deal with, and we all left the industry, eventually.

7. I love to travel, though I haven’t done much of it. I haven’t even seen much of Australia! I’ve been to Indonesia, Fiji, Singapore, England, Scotland and Tokyo. My favourites are England and Tokyo – I am desperate to see more of Japan, possibly taking the bullet train on a hop off and on journey. Really need to brush up on my Japanese if I plan on going anywhere other than Tokyo and Kyoto, though! I adore Japan, though I try my best to not be one of those Japanophiles. The culture and way of life is just lovely, and I love the quality of just about everything, the standards, and of course, the food!

8. I wish I could play a musical instrument (violin would be amazing), but I’m hopeless at everything, including singing. I loved being involved in school musicals though, though acting in stage plays was my main love. In my final year of high school I got to play Elizabeth Proctor in The Crucible and I adored every minute.

9. I used to be really into text-based roleplaying from about 1999-2003 or so, then I stopped until 2010 when I got into twitter-based roleplaying. I currently have an account that has over 75,000 followers which is a bit scary!

10. Other than a few jobs when I was younger, I completed a Government traineeship straight out of high school and have worked there ever since, I’ll almost reach 10 years in my current job in a few months! This is apparently odd. I never went to uni as my home town is very small, and the one uni it has is ranked one of the worst in the country, and I didn’t want to move away after high school. I really enjoy my job.

11. On my mum’s side of the family, we apparently came from the peerage, and as such are listed in the Burke’s Peerage listings. Well, I’m almost too far removed from it all – if I had children, they wouldn’t get to be listed in it. That side of the family doesn’t have much to do with the Australian part though, and if I wanted to go to the family estate in England (imagine Downton Abbey) I’d have to pay for a tour like everyone else.

11 Questions from Sam and River:

1. Who is your favourite secondary character in a book?

This is so impossible to answer. You’ve got the Thiefmaker and Father Chains in Scott Lynchs’ series and they’re excellent. You’ve got Zuzana in Laini Taylor’s work who’s also pretty excellent. Sazed in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn is such a lovely character. Devi in Patrick Rothfuss is also excellent, AND Fela. Argh. How can one pick? I can’t, I’m sorry, I just can’t.

2. What are some of your hobbies outside of blogging?

Currently I judge books in both the Australian Aurealis Awards (for spec fic) and the Children’s Book Council of Australia. That involved reading 87 and 370 books respectively for each and taking notes along the way. Both are currently ending though – Aurealis Awards has their awards night on the 5th April 2014, and that week I’ll be at the book council conference with the other judges as we try to finalise the winners and notables lists. I can’t wait!

Other hobbies are gaming, mostly on my 3DS these days, though when I live with my partner it’ll will include much more console gaming. I also love water zumba (currently on a fitness kick), knitting though I never seem to get much done, and as much as it pains me to say it, doing my nails. I never thought I’d say that, but there we go.

3. What was the last book you DNF?

Argh, I don’t like answering this! Bad publicity etc. But it’s for a book I put my hand up to review because an author I really enjoy said she loved it, and was helping the author get reviewers. I was looking forward to the book, but it was… pretty poorly put together, and needed several drastic edits. The characters seemed to change their personalities each chapter, it simply wasn’t engaging, several parts didn’t even make any sense and it just felt very all over the place. Like, if you were getting crushed in a panicking crowd, would you drop to the ground and crawl out? No, you’d be trampled.

Uhm. I’ll answer which book this is if asked directly, but I’d rather not state it out loud – I marked the book as read on GoodReads but didn’t rate it, if that helps.

4. What is your favourite kind of tea or coffee?

I don’t drink coffee (though I don’t mind a mocha) as it makes my hands shake if I drink even a single cup. I’m a tea person, and I love matcha, Australian Afternoon tea (now discontinued in the loose leaf tea), and… yes, I mainly drink powder or loose leaf teas. I’m currently subscribed to a tea delivery service called Monstrositea which is fantastic!

5. When you blog, do you listen to podcasts or music?

Well currently I’m blogging at work (shh!) but often I’ll listen to a podcast (either Welcome to Nightvale, Galactic Suburbia, or Hello Internet), general music, or whatever television show I’m currently watching.

6. Do you have a horrible addiction to Animal Crossing? (hint hint)

Yes, well, I did. I haven’t played it much in the last few weeks, just for Carnival and to finish off the diving category. Just two more fish to go that I somehow missed, and I’m done there also! Argh it’s addictive.

7. Are there any bookish apps you use for blogging or personal enjoyment?

Other than GoodReads when I’m too lazy to get up, no. Several publishers I enjoy have apps where they put up the first chapter/s of their new releases and I really should get into those, though. One of these is Random House.

8. Least favourite character in a book you’ve read and why.

Easy answer would be Umbridge, wouldn’t it? Going on the basis that she goes without saying, uhm. The Falconer in The Lies of Locke Lamora because of spoilers spoilers spoilers. And that ending. My goodness.

9. Prettiest Book cover you’ve ever seen!

Oh I have no idea. Probably this version of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)

10. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

I’m not really one over the other at all – we’ve always owned a dog my entire life (silky terriers, then a blue heeler, then a dingo cross, then an… unknown bitza, and currently a husky cross border collie). But overall if I could only own one pet, then it would be a cat. But I’m always going to try and own both!

11. What is one book you are excited to read when it releases?

I have a whole list of books I’m eager for in 2014! But if I had to pick one, uhm. The Thorn of Emberlain (Gentleman Bastard, #4) by Scott Lynch because, again Scott Lynch, and again I’ll say I have a cameo in this novel so queue the failing.

Nominated Blogs:

My questions for you!

1. What is your favourite book in 2014 so far and why?

2. What book genre do you most enjoy reading?

3. Which book or series would you love to see produced for screen, whether it’s film or television?

4. What tv show or movie series would you love to see a proper, epic novel series about?

5. What’s one thing you wish you could do (multi-tasking) while reading?

6. What’s one book you’ve been meaning to read for a long time, but haven’t managed to get to just yet?

7. If you could place yourself within any novel, either as an extra character or living the life of an existing one, who would you choose?

8. What kind of tech would you love to be invented to assist with either writing or reading?

9. If you could design a dessert related to a book series or character, what would it be? Describe it to us!

10. If there was a ride at Disney World related to a book series or character, what would it involve? Would you go on it? (A Hunger Games one would certainly be interesting…)

11. What’s one book you recommend to anyone and everyone, regardless!

Leave a Reply

